Snapchat : How to unsend a snap message

0
28

It’s ofen that youngs or adults hesitate to send snaps containing very suggestive or even sometimes intimate photos or videos. It is also important not to get the wrong correspondents. Discover in this tutorial how to cancel the sending of a Snap sent by mistake to the wrong person.

Delete a Snap before it is read

Snapchat Delete a Snap before it is read

Stupidity and unconsciousness very often go hand in hand. Messaging and other social networks are conducive to rash acts. While the security of our personal data is the subject of much controversy, more and more people are having fun sending very explicit messages.

Bare photos, naughty messages, some stop at nothing to drive their partner mad. Spontaneously without even thinking about it, they exchange photos or videos that are difficult to take in the light of day.

But where things get very complicated is when you mistakenly send a hot Snap to your aunt or an office colleague. While it is possible to delete a WhatsApp message before it is read by your correspondent, Snapchat currently does not offer any similar function.

There are, however, a few methods to delete a Snap before your contact becomes aware of it. Please note that all of these tips do not work 100%. With updates, Snapchat is making changes to its platform, making these operations completely obsolete.

  • Launch the Snapchat app
  • Click on the ghost icon to display the presentation page of your account
  • Then press the gear button in the upper right corner
  • Bring the window down
  • In the Actions section click on the option delete conversations

You will see a list of friends with whom you have had conversations displayed on your smartphone screen. By pressing the X button you can delete the thread of your discussions. Update: unfortunately this option no longer allows you to delete a snap sent by mistake to the wrong party. The latest versions of Snapchat have just blocked this trick.

Delete your Snapchat account

Snapchat Delete your Snapchat account

There are a lot of tutorials on the net explaining how to cancel sending a snap. Most of them recommend deleting their Snapchat account. No need to embark on such an adventure. This radical solution has not worked for several months.

Contrary to what several sites indicate, once your account is deleted, all unopened messages are not automatically deleted. Your Snapchat profile remains inactive for 30 days. During this period, your friends will no longer be able to send you Snaps from their smartphones but will continue to see your messages in their discussion threads.

After this time, your account and all the data it contains will be destroyed from the servers of the American giant. No reactivation will then be possible.

Block a recipient

Snapchat Block a recipient

Snapchat has no functionality to delete messages already sent. However, by using workaround strategies, it is now possible to achieve this result.

Several tests have shown that simply blocking a friend can prevent them from knowing unread messages. Obviously the blocking must take place a few minutes after sending the snap.

  • Launch the Snapchat app
  • Click on chat
  • Look in the list for the name of the recipient to whom you mistakenly sent a message.
  • Click on his nickname
  • Press the Menu button at the top of the window to open the mini profile tab
  • Click the Block button

Keep in mind that this tip is likely to be fixed in a future update. This method may therefore no longer work. And then you will have to explain to your contact why you blocked it.

Delete photos from your story

Delete photos from your story

Several new modes of communication have appeared on Snapchat in recent months. This is particularly the case for stories. Unlike traditional snaps, the story stays online 24 hours and can be viewed as many times as your subscribers want during this interval.

Fortunately, stories offer a delete content feature. Very useful for erasing an embarrassing image without waiting 24 hours before it disappears automatically.

  • Open Snapchat
  • Slide your finger from right to left to open the story screen
  • Select the story you published
  • Locate the photo to be deleted
  • Press the small arrow at the bottom of the image
  • Click on the trash option
  • Confirm your choice to permanently delete the photo

Remember that recipients will be able to see your photos before your message is deleted. We must therefore be as quick as possible.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here